The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

I would like to agree with the statement given, however only partially. there is a place and time for both, cooperation and competition, are two sides of the same coin, very closely related to each other, yet seem strikingly different.

Take for example, all the brick and mortar shops in India, selling all kinds of goods ranging from clothes to cell phones. A decade ago there was no competition to your local shops from anybody, they could charge you any amount and you wouldn't have any option other than to buy it. This was clearly due to lack of any competition to these guys. Fast forward to 2019, you can find a plethora of e-commerce websites dealing in the same goods as these shops. However, now when you go to the same shop and ask for the same commodity, you would notice that the quotations are very much in line with what the general consensus is. This could only be achieved through competition.

Now for a contrasting example, assume you are working in a company with a specific team of people working on developing a single product. Here the main goal is to finish the development of the product as soon as possible. In this situation, being cooperative and getting the product to market is the most rewarding for all. Sharing new revelations with the team that could speed up the process, or finishing your part of the job on or before deadline is paramount to the success of the team. If you are competitive in such a scenario, the effects could be detrimental for the team, not only you.

As you can see from the strikingly contrasting examples provided above, instilling in young people both, a sense of cooperation and competition is the best way to prepare them for leadership in various aspects of life. However by my reckoning, the characteristic that trumps these both is to know the right time and place to be either of them.