All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

I completely agree with the issue at hand. There's a big demand and huge dollar for consultant firms with the sole purpose of suggesting ways for the company to operate more efficiently. this is totally counterintuitive given the fact that its own employees would have much more credibility when it comes to determining the company's efficiency.

Adding insult to injury, most employees tend to resign from such firms at quite early stages in their career, most fresh recruits resigning under the 2 year mark. this alone should be a huge telltale sign of how inefficiently these companies function. By my reckoning, this could very well be attributed to the fact that many multi-billion dollar companies often neglect their own employees, which is not only frustrating for the employee, but also costs the company top dollar to get outside suggestions, which could be considered average to say the least.

After all, who would know better? An employee who works 8 to 9 hours a day, 5 days a week in the company or a consulting firm trying to impress its employer with some fascinating revelations. In my honest opinion, many multi-billion profit orientated companies can save a lot of money by listening to their own employees and would function even more coherently if they truly try to make their employees happy.