The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.

Every government, industry or any other field has a need of pragmatic leader so that field can make decision for the betterment of the society. The leader should possess foresight and insight to make viable decision and that have minimum disadvantages. To incorporate such skills one should have the will to excel and surmount all the difficulties. Therefore, sense of competition is ver necessary to develop these skills.

On the first facet, if we consider the government of any country. Elections take place to give people the chance to choose their government. The parties which are standing in the elections does have competition between them so that they can exhort people to vote for them. In order to get their vote bank filled they try to persuade people by various offers for the betterment of the public. The competition between the parties is a benefit because all the parties try to give more attractive and persuading promises and after winning they have to keep it.

Secondly, in any industry if someone wants to be a leader, he/she has show his/her worth by performing peerlessly. If someone is having the ability to work more accurately and efficiently then that person is surely the contender for the leadership role for that industry. And to transcend and work beyond limits, competition is very necessary. For example, if there is a vacancy for the designation of project manager. Then the person who has done more efficiently will be chosen but competition gives the opportunity to all to work extraordinary and make their remark. Moreover, it will be better for the industry also as more meticulous and prudent person will be given the job.

Additionally, cooperation is also very important for a leader to work with the team. However, sometimes a situation arises when a decision has to be taken through foresight and there comes the responsibility of the leader to take a tenable decision. For example, in India, a huge amount of fake currency was circulating in the market. And prime minister, Narendra Modi took a bold decision to change the currency. That decision was very difficult to handle because all the economy of the country just shattered as no one was aware of it. Many of the officials in the government did not concur the idea of demonetization but, Narendra Modi took that decision. However, it turned out be a good decision for the counrty.

In the crux, for a leader cooperation is very improtant trait. However, without competiton one can not show case the ability to be a leader and can not excel.

Competiton gives edge over the others and make your case of being a leader more substantial.