The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition

Human’s as a species has been known to push it’s limits. To endure in the most dire conditions. It is not just modern humans this has been the case even when man lived in caves and competed for resources with other humans/tribes . We were never been told to do so. It is more or less a natural instinct. It is basically survival of the fittest.

There have been various instances in our modern history where competition has actually help modernizing our society. For instance the competition between the soviet union and USA lead to huge leaps in space exploration and once the space race ended between these two super powers space exploration sort of became stagnant.

Another great example where competition has lead to development is the completion between two silicon valley gaints apple and Microsoft. Which led to huge development in the computing industry.

Science and technology is not the only place. They are certain fields like sports where competion is the core aspect of the field. We could not have witnessed football legends like cristaino Ronaldo and lionel messi if there wasn’t any competition.

But also we cannot deny the fact that man is a social animal and that coopertation between us is important . For instance in times of epidemic breakout’s war etc all countries need to cooperate and look out for each other as one big family.

So to conclude. I strongly believe that competition has ensured our success as a species. But we as humans should not take competition to extremes which could lead to an unhealthy atmosphere. Competition should exist but just in the right proportion along side cooperation.