The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The topic raises a widely debated topic about cooperation versus competition in a leadership role. Indisputably, young talents should starting focusing in developing cooperation skill in order to become good leaders. Nevertheless, the sense of competition is extremely important in the actual contemporary society. Thus, I disagree with the fact that the best way to prepare young people for leadership is by instilling in them only a sense of cooperation.

First of all, cooperation and competition should walk together and not being treated as opponents. For instance, it is mandatory for someone who is running for a political vacancy to be highly competitive because the election process is in simple words a contest. You might achieve more votes than your opponents and just relying in cooperation you will never be elected. As a result, the pre-election period is a wild cage with candidates fighting to death using all the ways possible, ethically correct or not. In the end, the one which convinced the grater quantity of people will win. Moreover, other leader positions, such as in industry, could be very similar to the political process, thus candidates should be prepared to go through this phase.

Secondly, leadership positions are normally allied with power and money, in this way, there will be a huge amount of people trying to “steal” the position for themselves. When something involves people’s ego they are willing to do anything. The only way to defense yourself is to have a strong sense of competition and not bowing to criticism and defamation that surely will appear. It is far from the ideal world but unfortunately this is the way our always society worked. A good example are the Roman emperors, history showed to us that leaders had a very hard time to maintain their position because of the competition among families members. Consequently, inside a family that we might expect cooperation, instead it was a very competitive place.

As previously stated, cooperation is equally necessary for creating good leaders. Without cooperation from the people, no leader will obtain success in his/her career. As the definition of the word “leader” says, its main function is to lead people, and without cooperation this task is impossible. However, the argument above does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that it is the only aspect that a leader needs to develop.

In sum, although cooperation is highly important for a leader, the sense of competition should be equally explored. As long a young person achieve the perfect balance between these two disciplines he/she will probably become a very prestigious leader. In fact, this process of learning could be made organically, just inserting the pupils on the market or political world they automatically will start to increase their skill just watching other people behavior.