The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Youth is the power factor of any country. The future of the country totally depends upon it's youth generation. As humans have a natural tendancy of learning from what they see around them in their society. We peoples adapt ourself according to our society, so a society plays a vital role in developing us. I strongly agree with the author's prompt that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government or in any other field is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition. Competing leads to a qualified self success but cooperating leads to the overall developement of an individual as well as others surrounding them.

Competition developes a feeling of envy among the peoples that can lead them to ineluctable damage in their life. Competition only enhances the growth of a single individual while cooperation leads to the overall developement of the society. Competing isn't a bad thing but when the competition becomes personal among the individuals it can cause a severe damage. One can achieve great things with cooperation that can't be solely achieved by the competition. For instance, we can see that all the behemoth IT industry are each others competitor but at the same time they cooperate with each other as well. Because there are some problems that could only be solved by cooperation, no matter how strong the industry is but if they fail to cooperate with others in the corporate world their success would be stated as qualified success.Therefore such qualities should be taught to the yong peoples by the society.

For an instance, let's say in a school there were two students, one was the brightest one and the other one was not so bright in academics but was good in other activities. The bright student alwyas used be first in the class, he always tried to compete with others and be on the top and hence does not have good relations with other students as he alwyas wanted to be on the top most position in the class and hence was not so helpful and cooperative with other students. While the second student who was a moderate one was not so good in academics but had a very good relation with others, as he always used to help others. When there was election in the school both of the students were standing in the election, the brightest one and the moderate one. When the results were out the moderate students won the election just because of his ability of coperarting with other. While the other student was only busy in competing and he did not realise that becasue of this competative nature he did not have good relations with others and therefore lost the elections.

By coperating, one can achieve anything what it seems impossible to achieve alone, because there will always be someone for your help. Therefore i think that society must instill the sense of comoperation and not competitoin in their young peoples.