The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Widely, there are two kinds of leadership: competitive way and cooperative way. Between these two ways of leadership, I agree with the suggested claim that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Granted, in order to improve one's ability in specific field, competition can be one of the best choice for that objective. Since every people have known about that, that's why traditionally people evaluate the students by examination in school. It is efficient in past times, which the leader do not have to know about diverse things. Thus, it is possible that the leader instilled by competition may become a good leader in past.

However, when it comes to leader for present days, they need to work with the people with various majors. This brings the result that people cannot have sufficient ability only by competition. In order to be a successful leader, CEO only need to know about the business, not about the technology in past. However, nowadays, to be a good leader, the background in other majors should be followed. Let me introduce the example of Steve Jobs, the formal CEO of Apple. Because he have sufficient background in not only business but also design and technology, Apple can be one of the most successful, leading-edge company. Therefore, the ability of cooperation is inevitable for nowadays leader.

In addition, the people who is familiar with competition only, they even possibly be hard to cooperate with others. During long competition, people create their own strategy which effective for competition. And among that strategies, strict exclusion of cooperation is one of the most effective strategy. The new generation in South Korea and China show this aspect clearly. In order to win the other people from the strict competition, some students deliberately not deliver some important notices, for example, about assignment which may be scored, for other competitors. Since the competition is the only thing that they have learned in school, they don't know how to cooperate with people, and the people who are familiar with this strategies may not be a good leader consequently. Thus, to lead the young people in positive way, instilling them about cooperation from young age can be better way than instilling them about competition

In conclusion, it may possibly be a good leader instilled by a sense of competition in past. However, it seems obvious that the leader who know how to cooperate may be induce more positive results than the leader who only know how to compete with others.