The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.

There is an adage that says "United we stand, Divided we fall". This bolsters the author's statement as well. It is important that the society teaches its young people to practice cooperation instead of being competitive, for them to become pioneers in any industry.

I believe that leadership comes when you cooperate and uplift the people while uplifting yourself. When a person is taught cooperation, he/she will always think about everyone who is associated with him/her and not only will focus on their personal goals but will move forward with everyone else. For instance, Mahatma Gandhi, who was a revolutionary and worked towards the eradication of racism both nationally and internationally, is known for his non-violence and cooperative methodologies. Had he not been taught cooperation in his younger years, he would not have been a freedom fighter and an influencer of his time who revoked the entire world merely by his skills as an effective orator. He came from an affluent family but for the values instilled by his parents, he did not grow up to be competitive but an affable and humble person. Therefore, it is necessary for the society that it pays attention to impregnate a sense of cooperation among its younger generation.

However, some might argue that to survive in the current world, one has to be competitive but I vehemently disagree with this statement. We are instilling an emotion of avarice and power when we educate a young person to be competitive which might only be beneficial for an individual. On the other hand, if we educate a person to be cooperative, we are growing society as a whole.

In conclusion, I would say that if we are teaching a young generation of society to be competitive, we have to make sure that they self-compete to make themself a better person every day while being cooperative with the members of the society for better upliftment and progression.