Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

An organization/institution/government has its foundation laid on a certain set of rules or laws that everyone is expected to accept and abide by. These laws have to be common for all, and giving latitude to anyone as an exception can lead to the exploitation of the principles on which the institution stands. Law-makers are the protectors of the strictures with respect to the framework of the governing body. I completely disagree with the above statement that laws should be flexible under any circumstance, time, or place.

Firstly, the laws are made taking care of the symbiotic relationship with the people for whom the laws are made. Any law incorporated globally is framed according to the participating countries and is not only pertinent to a specific territory or region. For instance, if any country wishes to adopt a nuclear technology even for power and energy generation, they have to abide by the global norms framed for such reasons. This law came into force after the Hiroshima-Nagasaki incident when the US dropped a nuclear bomb on Japanese land during World War II, leading to mass destruction and catastrophic effects. To maintain the world’s peace, these sets of rules were implemented for the protection of humanity. Hence, it is necessary to have stringent rules that curtail flexibility and are uniform.

Secondly, laws are made for the development of the human race but due to few people taking advantage of their positions for personal good, it becomes arduous to protect the law. For instance, India, the country which is striving to take down its name from the list of developing nations and thriving to make its place among the developed ones, is currently struggling with its legal system. The constitution of India is convoluted and the extent to which the laws are incorporated is negligible. One of the reasons for the country’s slow growth is corruption. The need is to make stringent anti-corruption policies and to keep a check on the leniency of the government or its officials, which does not abide by the laws in fear of abduction of its power to govern.

On the other hand, the Indian government has been flexible in making laws for the LGBTQI community. Homosexuality, in India, was considered a taboo and against the law. With the changing times, India has accepted the LGBTQI community and has amended the laws to protect it. Hence, it is important to amend the laws as per the changing times and needs which focuses on a bigger aspect and not to special cases pertaining to time, circumstance, or place by abiding by the law.

In conclusion, the laws are made taking care of the concerned people and for the protection of humanity as a whole. The development of any institution/nation/organization is contingent on how the laws are formulated and followed and if required, are amended.