Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals actually play a significant role in addressing issues that might have been overlooked by a body of people or a society as a whole. It is true that people learn from their mistakes, but if corrective measures are not taken on time, it might lead to the downfall of the system on which further progress can be made. I believe that scandals often bring out issues that might affect a larger section of the society which can be rectified and improvised in the long run.

The chief reason for my view is that society, however pragmatic it is, does not pay attention to the issue until it is highlighted. Taking an example of a German-based multinational conglomerate, Seimens AG, was involved in bribery, corruption, and money laundering scandal. Siemens was accused to bribe state government officials of multiple countries in order to win state contracts. It became an international issue when it came to the spotlight of media. In this arraignment, the company was fined and took corrective measures by formulating anti-corruption policies. Hence, scandals might bring into focus the key issues by acknowledging and putting efforts into solving them.

Another reason for my view is that scams come in different disguises, and it is important for us to be aware of the type of fraud that can happen with us or with the society. For instance, a recent global cyber scandal was revealed where the imposters were transferring money from people’s accounts by asking them their bank related information pretending to be bank employees. Therefore, it is important that these scandals are revealed for the public to become careful and informed about the kind of denigrated affairs.

However, some might argue that divulging these scandals publically might abet people in committing such heinous crimes. Yet it is important for the people and the society to be aware of such acts and act accordingly. However, in the final analysis, it is better to make an informed move for the better good of the people.

In sum, because illuminating the issues and solving them, and being informed and careful of the scandals that overshadow our society, it is better we identify and rectify them beforehand than to be ignorant. These scandals are revolutionary and attend to the problems that no speaker or reformer could ever tackle with such finesse.