A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

The author suggests that the schools should have the same curriculum for all the students till they start their college education. The primary goal of education is to shape the career of the students and aligning as per the interest of the students who have to study a designated curriculum. However, I do not agree with this statement as there are multiple reasons why the curriculum has to be differentiated as per the interest levels of the students.

Firstly, all students are not the same and might be interested in pursuing different careers. A single curriculum cannot be the base for imparting knowledge and exacting a student upon a desired career choice. The students might have different goals after school, some might want to pursue a college education, some might want to start their own business, and some might even want to upgrade their expertise and skills in art or sports. A nation should not restrict the student to pursue further studies/career single-handedly by a restricted curriculum choice. A student should get a choice to select from various curriculum that suits his/her future goals. For instance, if a student wants to learn and build a career in music, why should the student study unnecessary subjects like history, maths or science that will not even help him/her in the future. This will only lead to a wastage of time by compromising on the time that could have been devoted to study or practice the desired subject. Hence, it is mandatory to have a flexible curriculum pertaining to the requirement of myriad of students.

Secondly, having a common curriculum system might not be feasible to the nation where the requirement changes according to the regions. For example, countries like America and Australia have a single language as the medium of instruction or communication, but a country like India, have different languages for communication based on the region. Though the national language is Hindi and English is the secondary language, Hindi or English is replaced by the regional language for the purpose of communication. It is difficult for Hindi or English as a language to survive in those areas. Thus, a pliant curriculum is required as per the requirement of the region in the same nation.

However, I agree that all students should study a standard curriculum across the nation but we cannot deny the fact that it should be made flexible after a certain point of time so that the students can explore their interests and focus only on the subject they wish to pursue after school. This would help in better career selection and polishing the skills they would require in the college.

In conclusion, we can say that since education is the basic right of every citizen, it should not restrict the students from following their passion by putting them under a mundane curriculum and let them explore themselves by giving enough room to develop their talents and without wasting time on unnecessary activities and regional boundations.