The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A society is a place occupy by individuals of similar cultural heritage and as the saying goes; Youths are the leaders of tomorrow. The structure of the society must be well defined among the youths as it is the major determinant in knowing the kind of leaders that will be produced by the country in future. Instilling a sense of cooperation among the youths at societal level has more merits than instilling in them a sense of competition.

Cooperation brings about unity among individuals in a particular region as most of the inventions that have come about in the planet is via cooperation among those that are involved. The coming about the Atomic Model by Rutherford is due to the fact that, he instructed his students, Masden and Geiger, to carry out series of experiments which they acceded to and cooperate with one another to get the required results.

Furthermore, cooperation among leaders of a country from various ethnic group do bring about smooth running of the country with the country, fast ahead when it comes to decision making. This is conspicously lacking in Nigeria as various representative from different states have their own say and the unity is not there. This has brought setback to the country in terms of restructuring as leaders from different states have disparate opinions.

In addition to this, cooperation in sport is paramount as it makes the team to achieve success. For example, in a football team where all players are ready to play to one another and also provide the necessary assist for a player in position to score will make the team victorious than a team that are playing to gallery and each player does like one another.

Though, in some aspect in life, a sense of competition is needed in order to achieve the desire goal. case study is world cup where nations from different continent compete with one another for the covetious trophy but looking indept, cooperation among each team is the major key to achieving that success of lifting the trophy.

In conclusion, as far as competition has it's own merits in life, sense cooperation of cooperation has more merits than sense of competition as cooperation among nations of the world will make peace to continue to reign without going back to the era of world war, which decimated major parts of the planet.