The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Waste management has been the major problem for almost all cities of all countries. Especially, the cities of underdeveloped counties which do not have access to scientific waste management facilities are worsened by this problem; it has, thus, lead to unpleasing environment and even has compromised the health of residents. Hence, waste management is of serious concern to all. The prompt mentioned above introduces the concept of enacting limitations in the amount of trash accepted by cities. I moderately agree with the prompt; I will further elaborate my stance through the paragraphs mentioned below.

To begin with, humans tends to be profligate on any matters, especially when there are no restrictions on it. We generally produce a great deal of wastes without taking other considerations. The restrictions would make us think twice when producing wastes. The author of the argument is rational here by suggesting regulations that reduces the amount of wastes produced. The waste produced in Kathmandu city, for instance, was substantially reduced when regulations regarding the amount of waste was imposed by the metropolitan city. The respondents from the city reported that they became cautious in producing wastes after such laws were ratified. The same measures also contributed in more production of biodegradable wastes such as paper bags. This way, these examples and evidences validate the argument mentioned above.

In a similar manner, such restriction measures also bring behavioral changes in the residents of the city. These behavioral do posse measures that helps to combat environmental problems. The residents of Neelakantha municipality, Dhading were found to distinguish biodegradable waste from non-biodegradable waste and eventually they used such biodegradable wastes as manure in the kitchen gardens. It is true that these sorts of changes could help to combat environmental problems even if to a small degree. Hence, it is apparent that restrictive measures could entice behavioral changes in the residents and thereby reducing environmental impacts.

However, the restrictive measures must not be so severe that some section of society could not perform under such regulations; there are some entity in societies that produces a lot of waste owing to the operation they perform. Restaurants, for example, produce a vast amount of waste; such measures would exact a toll in their business. Similar complaints were registered by business entities such as hotels and restaurants from Bharatpur, municipality when restricting measures were put forward. It could be far better if provisions of extra charges for wastes which are surplus to limit are made; the claim, in this way, would be more robust.

To sum up, the claim is rational despite of some concessions; yet proper concern also should be directed towards such constraints. It is, however, imperative that the measures that restricts the waste acceptance should be brought up; this plays a huge role in the scientific management of waste and consequentially promotes better environment.