The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

A common saying is that necessity is the mother of invention. To solve environmental problem there always a necessary step should be taken. But strict limits on the amount of trash from each household would not be a very satisfactory decision to solve environmental problem. Rather in this age of technology we should take a scientific method to mitigate environmental problem attributed by consumer generated waste.

Now a days many European and North American country is trying to convert degradable consumer generated waste into energy. Sweden is one of those country which done this excellent work very satisfactorily. In Sweden, they converted consumer generated waste in which hydrocarbon is mainly processed to produce electricity. In Katmandu, many municipalities collect waste and make 1-ton waste into 60 Kilowatt electricity, gas and fertilizer for the agriculture. So, if we encourage people to cooperate with waste management in this scientific method then it will bring a satisfactory result towards solving environmental problem.

But, imposing strict limits on the amount of trash is one kind of unrealistic way to solve environmental problem. When a person was forced to limit their consumer generated waste then it is very much possible that they throw their waste in every inappropriate location such as park, road etc. Then the environmental problem will be turned in a massive problem. For example, in my country Bangladesh where government strict limits on consumer generated waste for towns like Dhaka and the result is worst. And Dhaka is so polluted that it is announced one of the top unlivable cities in the world.

So, government should take some realistic solution like scientific method to solve this problem. Reduce the usage of undegradable plastic products which is very dangerous for the environment and increase biodegradable product which is easily composed. Government should also impose fine if any consumer throws their waste in an inappropriate location. Which also reduce environmental problem and make the country clean.