The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following argument is flawed for numerous unwarranted assumptions for supporting its main conclusion that selling domestic cheeses will more profitable than imported cheeses. However, before establishing the conclusion there are some question would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result.

Firstly, does the last year situation still remain same in present year? It is possible that last year profitable cheeses will not give the same profit in this year. Perhaps, the test of people will change by eating same kind of domestic cheeses. May be there have been launching new flavored imported cheeses which seems more preferable to them. Or they are not buying the same kind of domestic cheeses which they tasted past few months. If any of them will cause, then the argument will not sustain its main conclusion. If the following argument could provide any proof that the previous year situation is still exist or work in this year then the argument’s main conclusion will become more logical.

Secondly, all the five best selling cheeses were domestic that does not mean that all kind the domestic cheeses are same popular. May be there are twenty kind of domestic cheeses and five of them were very popular but rest of them are not as much popular as imported others. May be after the top five domestic cheese there are more than ten imported cheeses are popular. Since there are no information about the popularity after the top five cheeses, so it is not sure that increasing domestic cheese over imported ones will be more profitable.

Finally, the survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers does not indicate that it will works in all country. May be its not the case. Perhaps, in your country the popularity of domestic cheeses is lower than the imported cheeses. Or top five domestic cheeses will not profitable as following. May be in your area there are many sophisticated people prefer imported cheeses over domestic one. Since the author failed to provide enough information about this fact then the following recommendation is flawed.

In conclusion, if the author can provide more information to counter the indicated question with a proper scientific method, then may be the recommendation about domestic cheeses is more profitable than imported cheeses will work on.