The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum by the business manager of the television station proposed to expand their coverage of weather and local news on all their news programs in order to attract more viewers to their news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues. The manager come to this conclusion based on complaints received from the viewers as well as cancellation their advertising contracts with local businesses. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three question must be answered.

First of all, does the ad company still focus on television advertisement? It is possible that the ad company is more focusing on digital content like You Tube, Facebook or other social network rather than television advertisement. We live in an age of modern science where internet streaming is much preferable than television. So may be the ad company significantly focusing on how to spread their product publicity through internet and other online sources. If either of the scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, do all ages of the people like to see local news and weather news? The manager of the television assumes that the choice of all viewers is same, that means all ages of viewers like to watch same kind of things like weather and local news. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps the young generation like to watch national news and the middle old generation like local and weather news. It is very easy to find out the weather condition by the young generation through internet, as though they are very active on internet nowadays.

Finally, is past years condition still not changed? The argument fails to provide any justification that past years situation is similar to current times. Perhaps, economical situation may be change with modern technology. It is possible that people are more attracted to smartphone than television. Young generation spend more time on their laptop and not television. If the viewers are not much interested like past years, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three question above and offer more evidence ( perhaps in the form of a systematic research study ), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to expand their coverage of weather and local news on all their news programs in order to attract more viewers to their news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues.