The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

I partially agree with the statement, it is a human mentality to lean towards the things where our skills are getting appreciated, our knowledge is getting flourished or our someone is providing a platform to enhance our positive traits. Also when our actions are being marked or promoted we feel encouraged and take more efforts to do the same for the next time.

In schools, when teacher appreciates students actions, the students feels that he/she is being supported and later the students takes more efforts in their work to show cast their abilities. Also at home when you cook something and your parents appreciates it, you instantly feel encouraged and that naturally builds our liking to make it happen again. So this is not constrained only to younger age group but it's also seen in all age groups.

Despite praising positive actions lead to good outcome, neglecting negative actions can also lead to bad consequences. When a primary school teacher appreciates student who shares his stationery with his fellow classmates, this can teach the student that he is doing the right thing and so do others should also follow his action. But when the same students creates noise while the teacher is teaching and if the teacher doesn’t let him know or ignores it, it can lead to inappropriate behaviour. Unless the teacher lets him know about it he will think that his actions are quite fine and his behaviour could lead to something else or he might repeat it. To improve the students behavior punishing or scolding is not a wise act to do.

In summary, positive reinforcement is certainly an excellent method of teaching new methods or behaviors and encouraging student to learn more. However, to ignore rather than recognize and correct negative actions, would be a disservice to the student, for he would not know what conclusion to draw from his action.