The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Teachers and parents have different ways of teaching in different areas: people in China are more likely to pay attention to where the children perform badly and help them correct it by some punishments, whereas people in some western countries like the US and the UK tend to praise where the children do well and encourage them to move on. The statement argues that to praise the positive actions and ignore the negative ones is the best educational method. I mostly disagree with this statement because while it has its reasons in some situations, it is wrong and even bring some serious consequences in some other cases.

Obvious is the fact that there are several advantages of praising the positive actions. First, it will make you feel great and you may thus love doing this thing. For instance, my English teacher Qin Yuqing commended me for my courage of speaking English on the stage even if my oral English was broken at that time and did not mention my poor pronunciation at all. I felt extremely great and fell in love with spoken English. My oral English thus improved a lot when I was fully absorbed in it. Besides, it can also give the students who can easily doubt themselves and give up as the result of a failure the courage to move on. A scene of a famous Japanese amination called My Hero Academia leaves me a deep impression on how important a recognition can be to some people. Deku, the leading character who is going to give up his dream of being the greatest hero because he is always being laughed at by his classmates picked up his dream again when his teacher Allmight recognized his courage. And that time he cried and became firmer.

However, students brought up in the condition where the praises are all over are more likely to be fragile. As we all know, it is difficult for most of people to adapt to another circumstance once we get used to a condition. That is to say, students used to an environment full of praises hardly can escape that condition and enter into the cruel society where the young students may not be paid attention to even when they do some great job or be scolded regardless of their fragile heart. In addition, as is often the case, we may fail again and again when we are dealing with a troublesome task or trying to tackle a formidable scientific problem. We can not expect someone to stand along our side and encourage us to go on.

Furthermore, students indeed learn quite a lot from their negative actions and grow fast if they can calm down and retrospect. In most cases, if not all, there are always some drawbacks or bad habits of students which leads to the negative actions. And that is just where the students need to improve. For instance, people around me who find their own faults first and improve themselves from these faults can not only cooperate with others well but also progress extremely fast. Moreover, people can be much more firmer in their hearts once they have the courage to face their negative actions. A research shows that people who dare to face their faults directly are 19 percent more likely to be successful than those who escape from them.

To sum up, I mostly object to the statement because the suggestion may cause some severe consequences while it can also be advantageous in some aspects. And I think both the negative and positive actions have benefit the students if we can balance them and use them appropriately.