The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question its authority.

A democratic society where various kinds of reasonable questions on the authority is allowed even encouraged instead of an authoritarian one has always been considered as the vigorous guarantee of the well-being of a society for most of the countries if not all the countries. The statement argues that if many people of a society question the authority, the society can be more prosperous. I partially agree this statement because while it suits some cases, it fails in some other cases.

Reasonable and insightful questions which not only reflect some problems of the government but also take the reality into consideration will provide the authority some suggestions on the urgent social issues and supervise how the government use their power to serve its people. As we all know, a government, no matter how considerate it is to its people, may unavoidably ignore the interest of some kind of group. If some people question the government on this issue and the government revises the rules or laws to make up for it based on the actual situation, the society will go towards prosperity. It is a particularly salient example that the government passed the law to protect the third gender after this group questioned the authority whether they were given the basic human right. Indeed, it barely does harm to the other groups if there is and it is a kind of progress of human civilization.

Besides, corruption and inaction will easily grow if the public as the supervisor does not question the authority. For instance, the North Korea, a famous authoritarian country where there is almost no free talk against its dictator, had the lowest ranking of corruption perception index in 2012. And the poor development of this country just coincides with the statement.

However, this sacred right will backfire if it is taken advantage by people with bad intentions. It is a living example that the recent protest in Hong Kong turned into a riot with the help of some organizations. The protest began as the result of the revision of some laws, and it was also totally reasonable if the protestors just demonstrated on the streets questioning that the government tried to deprive them of the freedom by revising these laws. Indeed, many of the protestor just broke the peace of Hong Kong, paralyzing the transportation, destroying the communal facilities, attacking the police, and most of the citizen criticized the action but failed to stop them. These protestors were supported with equipment and paid 3000 US dollars each day per person and some media like CNN reported selectively and with prejudice. Even after the authority apologized for putting up the revision of the laws publicly and asked them to come to the table and discuss it, they just refused it and continued the riot. Now anyone with a pair of eyes without prejudice can see how depressed the Hong Kong is.

To sum up, while I agree that reasonable question on the authority can boost the prosperity of the society because it can offer the government some suggestions and supervise the government, it could also backfire if it is taken advantage of.