The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Teachers or parents have different ways of teaching in different areas: Chinese people prefer strictness, which we can tell from the Chinese proverb that a strict teacher produces outstanding students, whereas people in some western countries like the US and the UK are more likely to praise students. The statement argues that to praise positive actions and ignore negative actions is the best educational method. I mostly disagree with the statement because overly underscoring positive actions and neglecting negative ones can bring some serious consequences while praising itself, if applied properly, can benefit both teachers and students.

Praising students' positive actions appropriately can not only make students more confident and more glad to learn but also make it much easier for teachers to cultivate excellent students. For instance, my high school math teacher Mr. Gao whose class always ranked number one was the most popular teacher in my high school. One of the important reasons, according to my observation, is that he could use praise to spark the interest of students in math. Students who tried his best to tackle a challenging problem could be even more motivated when receiving his praise. And students who were bad at math also wanted to prove themselves when Mr.Gao encouraged them and finally the fell in love with math. For Mr.Gao, he gained the best result by creating an optimistic atmosphere of learning math using proper praises.

However, students living in an environment where is full of praises are more likely to be arrogant and fragile. Once I taught a child English as my part-time job. He was just such an arrogant child whose home was teeming with various kinds of his certificates and did not dare to admit his mistakes when I pointed them out politely. Then, he challenged my ability of memorizing by asking me to recite a passage with him. And I beat him hollow by a fluent and accurate demonstration of how to recite. I saw his hands were shaking and obviously he could not accept it. So, how could we believe a child could be an eminent person as his mother who was always praising her child expected?

Indeed, the child could grow faster and become more modest and firm if his mother could point out his negative actions like that properly. As we all know, no one is absolutely perfect but everyone can become better and better by taking in lessons from their faults, which unluckily are usually difficult for themselves to find out. That is the reason why negative actions can also be beneficial if we deal with them in the right way.

To sum up, I mostly object to the statement while the suggestion can make some sense in some case and I would like to contend that both positive and negative actions can be indispensable and salutary in our growth if they can be treated properly.