Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all the people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

How can the art of a country thrive? People have different opinions: some people think government funding of art should be available to all artists, but some other people object to any government funding. While both of the views have its reasons and flaws, my stance is more aligned with the former that only qualified artists can gain the government funding.

Before elaborating on my reasoning, I would like to share some of my understanding of art. Personally, I think art is the extension of our soul; it usually comes from our daily life and is used to express feelings and insightful opinions. Therefore, real art is generally original and does not follow the trend to cater for the public.

Then, it will be understandable why some people believe that the integrity of art will be threatened by the government funding. Once the art becomes a lucrative field because of enormous amount of government funding, it will attract a lot of mercenary fake artists. In order to gain more funding, these artists may try despicable ways to make it regardless of the integrity of art. For example, when a style is in fashion, they may create a huge amount of works mechanically applying that method. It will not fundamentally thrive the art but producing mediocre copies. What is worse, fake artists may get together to form factions to exclude the real artists who are usually alone and weak. Sometimes fakes can even plagiarise others' original works overtly whereby their power and influence.

Besides, we can notice that many famous masters in the history are extremely poor like Van Gogh. Is there some relationship between poverty and art. As we have mentioned above, real art comes from life and needs insights into this world. A tough life may help the formation of shining qualities and insightful opinions which are indispensable in creating masterpieces. Supposing all the artists live a comfortable life as the result of enough government funding, are there still so many masterpieces?

However, creating art itself is not cheap; the materials it needs are usually unaffordable to the poor artists. What is worse, they may lack incomes because most of time are spent on art. As is often the case in the history, some masters like Van Gogh even does not have enough money to create and have to sell his works cheaply. In addition, some talented artists have to give up their own dreams and find another job for living; some teenagers who are gifted and interested in field even do not have the courage to begin it because they know the high cost. So, this is may be the reason people advocate government funding.

From all discussed above, I would like to give an alternative suggestion that only the artists who satisfy the standards which of course need to be set carefully by experts can get the government funding. Then, we can really protect the benefits of the true artists and thrive the art.