Claim: In any fileld-business, politics, education, government those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through a leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

Every 4 years, the American presidential election will cause a hot discussion all around the world. I believe most of us roughly know the reasons behind it. However, the statement moves forward and claim that leaders in any field, not just politics, should step down after a five-year tenure because the speaker thinks revitalization through a leadership is the surest way for any enterprise to succeed. In my perspective, I mostly disagree with both his reason and claim.

Admittedly, leadership is a critical cause which determines the future of an enterprise, but indeed there are an enormous amount of factors like monetary, policies, and chances on which the success of an enterprise depends. In other words, we can not simply predict whether an enterprise will succeed accurately only by leadership. For instance, a Chines billionaire, Wang Jianlin builds up one of the richest group company Wanda Group from nothing in two decades. And he was once the richest Asian. What is more, I have to underscore that he is a retired soldier and consistently self-disciplined all th time. His company, however, has suffered an almost fatal blow and has been heavily in debt up to 500 billion RMB recently because it is not in conformity with some polices. The above example illustrates even such a great leader who could make sure a high-speed development of an Enterprise for so long would incur such a huge defeat because of unpredictable policies. So, how could we make sure that a good leadership will absolutely guarantee the success of an enterprise?

Besides, we are not sure to find a better leader even if the leadership were the sole factor which determines the future of an enterprise. That is to say, the next leadership we choose even through some strict rules may be worse that the last one. A particularly salient example is that Tim Cook, the incumbent CEO of Apple are not comparable with his last counterpart Jobs as far as influence of Apple in this world is concerned. In addition, factors like politics and interest will also affect the election of leadership. If there were a way we can make sure the leadership is better and better, the enterprise would be go up without any fluctuation. Obviously, history tells us it is not true.

Furthermore, the claim has flaws even if the reason were right. First, leaderships in these fields are not all the same like politics and education. Before elaborating on my reasoning, I would like to discuss why we need general election every four years in some countries. This system has even been in the laws in most of the countries to prevent centralization and further corruption. However, leaders in schools are usually different. As is often the case, many presidents of universities has a rather long tenure. In addition, these leaders can deal with official businesses better and better as the experience accumulates. And we do not worry too much about the centralization and corruption because of the relative clean environment in education. So, it is unreasonable to require that leaderships in these fields have the same length of tenure. Besides, the '' five years " in the claim is groundless. If it is true, why is the tenure of the president in most countries four years?

To sum up, I mostly object to both the reason and the claim and I would like to argue that this issue involves a plethora of factors and it is unrealistic to give a simple but right suggestion.