Government should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Rational planning on tackling important issues including imminent and anticipated ones is no doubt crucial to run a country well because human and natural resources are limited. The statement suggests that government should put most resources on solving the incoming or present problems instead of the anticipated ones. I partially agree with the claim because it suits in some cases, but fails in some other cases.

A country has to put everything like money, time, natural resources on the present issue when this issue is threatening the survival of the country even if the government knows it will sacrifice the development of the country. For instance, the Chinese people fought against the Japanese invaders at the cost of everything during the Second World War. In order to evict the Japanese army, the Chinese made use of anything they can use regardless of the death of the Chinese people, the damage of the environment, the waste of natural resources, and the development of education and technology: millions of Chinese people died; cities, roads, and mountains were burnt into ashes; oil and iron mines were exploited without restraint; students and scientists joined the army. This example illustrates a simple and obvious consensus that nothing is more important than the survival of a country, without which it is meaningless to talk about the anticipated problems of the future.

Furthermore, we can just ignore the anticipated problem if we can not change it or it will disappear after we successfully solve the present problem. The Earth, our sole motherland, has a limited longevity roughly 5 billion years, which means we humans will have no places to live and come to extinction according to what the theoretic physcis says. So, should the government focus on the issue that we will meet in the long future? Obviously not! Not only the government even the whole world can stop the death of the Earth whereby the present theory and technology, but also this issue will not be a problem if we can update the space technology to help us find a livable planet and emigrate there which is just what we humans are doing.

However, the government should take the anticipated problems into consideration in most cases when the country itself is the atmosphere of peace and development. A particularly salient example is whether the government should consider the issue of carbon dioxide emission when the country is developing its economy. As we all know, we need to burn natural resources like oil, and woods which will produce greenhouse gases like carbon dioxide and heat the Earth to run the cities, vehicles, and factories. While this problem if ignored will not bring the direct economic loss and facilitate the development of the economy in an extremely fast speed in a short term, it will bring disastrous consequences like the rise of the sea level and the extreme climate which can endanger the survival of human. What is worse, it would cost more to reduce the carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and the species die out can not resurrect.

To sum up, I partially agree this statement because it suits some but not all the cases.