A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The future of a country depends on education. It is always an important issue to ensure the equality and effectiveness. Some people suggest that all the students in a nation should be required to learn the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A glance on the statement, its good intentions are obvious. Uniform national curriculum before university may facilitate the educational equality. Studying in famous universities may be fatal to our life; it is an excellent chance for students from poor families to have a better future. In China, in order to enter high ranking universities, students need to compete in the same college entrance examination. If students do not take the same national curriculum, it will be hard to ensure the equality of this competition. To some extent, it is a good way to alleviate the class solidification, which will mitigate class contradiction and thus benefit the social stability.

Besides, the same curriculum may be beneficial to the communication and understanding of different nations of a country. As we all konw, conflicts among nations usually come from different cultural backgroud. By studying the uniform curriculum, students from different nations who will be the major group of the society will understand each other better. In China, students from 56 nations need to learn Chinese and the history of China. When people from different nations get together, we can chat with each other in Chinese, and we can also be more tolerent with each other because we are familiar with each other's culture. With more communication and understanding, China will be a more harmonious and stable country.

However, it is unrealistic to simply carry it out regardless of the actual situations. The suggestion in the statement ignores the differences of areas and students. As we all know, the overall level of education depends on its economy which means teaching resources, so it is unfair for students in less developed areas to compete with those in more developed areas. One of my classmate who comes from an less developed northwest area, Qinghai Province, could not catch up with my other classmates who are from the much more developed middle and eastern coastal areas even if she studied hard. In addition, even students in the same area have individual differeces; some students somehow have a gift on study and some students are podigies in other fields like art or music. If these students are all required to finish the uniform national curriculum, it is a kind of waste for the country.

Furthermore, would it be a kind of cultural invasion for these national minorities if they are required to study the curriculum designed for the majorities. Not only will it do harm to the preservation of precious cultutal traditions, but also may aggravate the protest of some national minorities. For example, if Chinese government requires all the nations to finish the same curriculum, some minorities like the Tibetan independence, may take the advanyage of this policy to split China. What's worse, the cultural traditions of the Tibetan may disappear, and it is unfair to local students to compete with students from other area.

Instead, I would like to propose an alternative plan that some basic courses can be same and optional courses are the complementary. For instance, in China each province has its own curriculum. Of course, all provinces share some basic subjects like Chinese and math though there are still some differences. Subjects like English will have a huge distinction between cities along eastern coast and other cities. Besides, students who are interested in art and music and going to work on these fields can choose another curriculum specially designed for them. So it can ensure the relative fairness with differences of areas and individuals taken into consideration.

To sum up, while this statement has its own good intentions, it is not realistic. An alternative plan may be better to achieve its goals.