Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research.

It aroused a huge controversy in both the public and academic circles last year that Dr. He secretly edited the genes of two babies LuLu and NaNa whereby the CRISPR-Cas9, a new gene editing technology. The statement argues that government should impose as less restrictions on scientific research as possible. I partially agree this statement because the suggestion, if applied, will be advantageous in some cases but will bring disastrous consequences in some other situations.

Few restrictions can encourage the scientists to think and try more boldly and discover or create more mechanisms or products which can benefit our humans. It is particularly salient example that Yuan Longping's team has made such a huge breakthrough on the hybrid rice. According to what Yuan said, the Chinese government just gave his team 40 million RMB which was a tremendous amount of fund to support his research on the new generation hybrid rice without more interference from government or requirement that they should have some kind of achievement. Yuan's, to all the Chinese people's delight, has a historic breakthrough in yield and resistence of hybrid rice, which makes China successfully feed the one fifth of the world's popularity with only 7 percent of area. Recently, their team has successfully cultivated a new type of hybrid rice which can adapt to the sea, which should have been impossible because rice is a species in fresh water. It is just the no restrictions that makes it possible for them to create and try without no fear and finally contribute to our society a lot.

However, corresponding restrictions on scientific researches are needed especially when these researches involve fields concerning nuclear weapons, moral issues, and virus or noxious materials, or it will have serious consequences. Scientists may do these researches out of curiosity, fame, and mony in the name of science and governments may provide these scientists with funds and resources for politic benefits. For instance, if every country in the world competes to develop nuclear weapons without any restrictions, the world would be put in danger and people would not feel safe because each country can threaten others by nuclear weapons, which is similar to what the North Korea is doing now. What is worse, some terrorists may really destroy the world when they take control of some turbulent countries and possess the nuclear weapons. So researches about these fields is totally forbidden around the world.

Furthermore, appropriate restrictions should be imposed on scientific researches to prevent corruption and the abuse of rights. As we all know, the funds of scientific researches are usually big amounts of money and it is easy to cause the corruptions if the expenditure is not transparent enough. Besides, it s not unusual that several researchers form a faction to exclude the real creative young scientists for their own benefits, which is obviously harmful to the scientific circle.

To sum up, I partially agree with this statement because it suits in some cases but brings serious consequences in other cases.