The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A teacher plays a vital role in moulding a student. The student develops character based on what he is taught. The prompt suggests that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. I mostly disagree with this and would argue that indeed a student must be praised for his positive actions but ignoring negative actions is amiss for the following reasons.

To begin, When a student does something negative it’s not something to be overlooked he has to atone for the actions else he wouldn’t stop doing them. This can be very destructive and can normalise doing such actions, where he does not understand when he crosses the line. For instance, a bully in school who has good grades when not rectified will continue to bully kids. This can not be ignored.

Further, when mistakes are pointed out, there is an opportunity to learn from the mistakes and to grow from them. Is it actually teaching? When a student is not taught how to correct his mistakes, where teaching is all about learning and the best way to learn is from your mistakes. A teacher or a person playing the role of a teacher must always point out the mistakes and teach them the right way. Rather than ignore or criticise them for their mistakes. For example, if a kid gets into fights then the parent must educate him why it’s not safe and amoral to hurt someone rather than to ignore. This will inevitable lead him to earn and be a better version of himself.

In conclusion, Although one can argue that everyone has flaws and we must concentrate on their strengths and not on their weakness or we must look at their positive deeds rather than wine about their negative. I strongly believe that along with exalting for the great things, amending your mistakes is the best learning experience and the right way to learn.