Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education plays a very fundamental but basic role in today’s society, education institutions, therefore, play a tantamount role. The prompt suggests that the institutions should persuade students from not pursuing fields of study that they are less or unlikely not going to succeed. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this and would argue that institutions must not dissuade students for the following reasons.

First, dissuading someone from not choosing a field might not technically be coercion but it intrinsically or implicitly is. Most students who are joining universities are ambiguous about their field, for such students it might be helpful, but for students who choose a field of study based on passion, this policy would be unscrupulous. Many things can come into play to ironically capsize the student into the wrong field, like personal prejudice, lack of complete knowledge/ potential about the fields existing. For instance, a student who dreams to take up hotel management, a council officer who is a connoisseur or has an insight into the technical field might unconsciously dissuade him from taking up hotel management and move into the technical fields like information technology, computer science as IT sectors have a lot of potentials. This can turn out the way where the student is very passionate and might be successful in the field of his interest.

Second, some students who are not obdurate about their field of interest of study, who can be convinced into taking up something else might graduate and get a job, but will he fondness in what he is doing? Will he be able to work his potential without feeling stressed? Will he find gratification or satisfaction, to say the least? Contrastingly, when a student graduates from a field that he would love to work for, might enjoy his work and be very effective without feeling pressured.

The institution must, therefore, only try to counsel a student, lay out the facts and let him decide. The committee appointed can inform the student how to pursue secondary, elective or other fields as a passive source of income so that the student would have some sort of security even if he doesn’t succeed in the field he chose.