Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Grades have a significant impact on a students mindset, most universities consider grades as a check for admits, to judge a student and his potential. The prompt posits that competition for grades curbs the quality of learning at all levels of education. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this and would argue that competition for higher grades not only curbs learning but also creates an unwholesome environment for an unassuming form of education.

First, In an environment where students contend for higher grades, an unintended pseudo impression is created that grades are of paramount importance compared to what can be learned or studied. For instance, when a system is stressing or underlining the fact that grades are very important without acknowledging the importance of knowledge. Students are implicitly coerced to compete for grades and completely discard what is actually being thought.

Second, because of the emphasis on grades, students tend to use techniques such as rote to score for in their exams rather than try to get insights into the concepts being thought using active recall and other techniques that could strengthen their understanding. This will inevitably lead to them forgetting the topics being thought, not being able to comprehend concepts that were supposed to be very crucial in their next academic year. This can lead to a series of a chain of events that could lead to a shortcoming in their tenacity on concepts.

Third, this competition can lead to an unhealthy atmosphere where students are not willing to help their classmates, assuming that they have to be ahead of every student. This can highly curb not only learning but developing skills like working with a team, trying to be articulate etcetera.

Although competing for higher grades can push students to work harder, motivate students and keep them motivated throughout. But the cons outweigh the pro. A system where the student’s tenacity in the subject is prioritised over grades would be a better system.