Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is among the basic amenities and rights of a citizen as stated in many constitutions. In today’s commercial world, schools, universities are charging exorbitant rates of tuition. The prompt suggests that the Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students. I Mostly agree with this for the following reasons.

First, Universities/colleges are charging an unreasonable amount of tuition, this culture is followed throughout in many countries. This is creating a divide between students who can, cannot afford these rates. For instance, a kid from a wealthy family, whose parents are doctors, actors, lawyers etcetera can afford to go to the reputed universities/ colleges that a kid from a labour class family can not. His family cannot afford to pay for his tuition. One can argue that scholarships can help aid these categories of students, but how many scholarships can the government provide? In countries with populations of over 90 million students.

Second, By waiving off tuition for every student and making education free. This will automatically increase the overall literacy rate of that country. As many students from classes of society that couldn't afford education can have access to now. For example, In a country like India, Still, people live in tribes, Villages

Untouched by urbanisation. For these people education is a luxury, when this is made free, kids from these families will move to cities to get admitted to colleges.

Although a lot of the private education sectors will take a huge toll if this is done, and most of these colleges or universities will have to shut down, it is still imperative that in this era education must no longer be a luxury. Government’s involvement in promoting this is of paramount importance or else these universities offering free education will succumb to having lower quality compared to the private universities offering cutting edge technology, students will be coerced into paying accommodating rates of tuition.