Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The choice of courses in a university is not a trivial one. It is the first decision he or she must take before entering a university. The prompt suggests that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this and argue that students must have the free will to choose whatever courses that they intend to pursue, either outside the field of study or inside for two reasons.

To begin, having courses that aren’t congruous with the field of study may lead to digression. The student spends his time learning things that might not materialise in the future.

For example, a student who is pursuing his masters in mechanical engineering, when he takes cooking as a course. The course will not materialise for his future in mechanical engineering. Although, one can argue that cooking can help him be independent. But that does not help him understand the concepts in mechanical engineering better. The above example explaining that courses that aren’t relevant to the courses will not help in augmenting the understanding of primary courses.

Further, when students are obligated to take up courses outside their field, students are predisposed to choose subjects that are easy and not which are most likely helpful to them in the future. For example, when a university has nuclear engineering as its main course. Most of the students who are forced to take courses apart from it tend to take arts, social etc. Because the course is relatively easy and they need not spend more time in studying these subjects. This might sound like a good thing but misses the point that they aren’t actively learning and are studying it just for the sake of studying.

Of course, when a student can have multiple interests and this can make his degree much interesting and fun for learning. But this argument need not be the case every time.

The university, in my opinion, should give students the leeway of choosing courses. The university must promote elective subjects, where these do not carry the same weight as the other courses in the field and the student can choose a course in or outside his field.