The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape

your position.

The speaker asserts that the best method of teaching is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. In my opinion, the statement raises valid points for asserting that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions, while it is too extreme to claim that the negative actions should be totally neglected. The neglect of the negative ones should be discussed case by case.

For starters, it is true that the best way of teaching is praising the positive behaviors. Proper praise can motivate the students and make them confident. For instance, if a student used to be taciturn all the time tries to answer the questions actively in class, the teacher should praise him and encourage him, no mater whether the content of his response is correct. As a result, the student is likely to become increasingly confident of his competence and braver to make a decision. On the contrast, if the students who always try to answer questions actively in class have not gain any praise, they may be discouraged and reluctant to give any responses to the teachers’ questions.

Besides, we shall admit that ignoring some negative behaviors is effective from time to time. It is ascertained that minor peccadilloes can, and in many cases should, be overlooked. Mistakes and other negative actions, such as being distracted by other things just for a while, are often parts of the natural learning process. Young children are naturally curious,and teachers or parents should not always scold their children for every broken plate or some minor mistakes out of curiosity. Otherwise, children are not capable of developing a healthy sense of wonder and curiosity, and may not know how to make decisions independently. Teachers should avoid rebuking and punishing students for faulty reasoning, incorrect responses to questions, and so forth. Otherwise, it may prevent the students from expressing their own opinions freely.

However, never can we take the statement to the extreme. Some bad behaviors other than the peccadilloes, should never be neglected, especially the ones regarding crimes. For instance, if the children are discovered that they have stolen money from their parents or classmates, they should be condemned or even punished heavily. Otherwise, they are tend to become habitual criminals if not told that these behaviors are illegal. Some severer negative actions like taking drugs or bullying, should be prescribed by the students’ parents or teachers once discovered. If not prohibited immediately, the students may be addicted to the drugs or violence. What’s worse, they may turn out to be heinous criminals. Hence, under these aforementioned scenarios, the negative behaviors can never be overlooked arbitrarily.

Overall, the statement is justifiable for the claim that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions, while as for the latter assertion regarding ignoring the negative behaviors, it should be evaluated circumstantially.