The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The heroes or role models of a society are not representative of the character of a society for a society is composed of myriad personalities, each with their own -and often- polar opposites as role models. The use of role models and heroes effectively lowers the sample size of the data set, a cardinal sin in statistics.

A common characteristic of a role model or a hero as defined by a society is popularity within certain social circles. Popularity has inevitably become the key to being idolized and can be gained by a variety of means, most unpopular. With the level of connectivity in the modern world, personalities can gain a significant following in a matter of days should they be involved in a situation sensational enough to capture the attention of the general public. A sensational situation is typically one charged with emotion and is not representative of the character of an individual. This leads to individuals with falsified persons being idolized by gullible viewers and followers. This brings us to the question of what qualities or features a role model should have. The absence of an answer to this leads to the conclusion that role models are not an accurate representation of the character of society.

Moreover, the variances in the attitudes of the role models of society serve to nullify findings of a study due to the typically polar personalities of the people regarded as role models. Polarizing individuals are more likely to be identified as role models, for people identify with individuals who share certain views of theirs and place themselves in societally defined camps. This promotes a herd-like mentality and is an inaccurate representation of the character of society or individuals. Role models also tend to differ by geographical regions due to different levels of acceptance of practices and activities considered positive. This lowers the impact of a study due to the unequal representation of various classes of society in their role models.

A better solution would be to evaluate the character of a society as a whole with a scientifically determined sample size to account for various cultures within society. Individuals free of external influences are more likely to voice their opinions to the fullest extent, thereby allowing for a clearer picture to emerge. A large sample size from a pool that accounts for all cultures from various geographical regions ensures accurate examination of character.

For the reasons mentioned above, role models and heroes chosen by society are not the ideal individuals to study to determine the character of society.