The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The Industrial Age ushered in an era of relative convenience in jobs with significant human involvement. Studies have shown that an increase in leisure time has a positive effect on the mental health of a workforce and is undoubtedly beneficial to society.

The availability of technology to minimize human effort for a desired outcome lowers the stress levels in the humans involved in the activity. A prime example would be the evolution of computer programming which has evolved from tedious machine language to human-friendly high-level language. The shift to high-level language proved to lower the stress levels in programmers and showed significant improvements in mental health. Another field that has seen tremendous strides in the increase in process efficiency is industrial manufacturing. In the 20th century, workers were required to manually assemble sub-assemblies and test them rigorously. The advent of industrial automation and robots helped lower the pressure on human operators and led to an increase in productivity, thereby increasing efficiency. These technologies have been identified as key players in the reduction in stress-induced illnesses in employees. The aforementioned advances have served to better the lives of the people involved.

Efficient processes commonly involve automation which enables minimization of human involvement. The benefit of the reduced need for human involvement is the increase in leisure time available which has an impact on the mental health and productivity of the humans involved. In the field of aviation, the increased use of autopilots for navigation and flight has lowered the burden on pilots and has shown improved levels of happiness and job satisfaction. These are closely related to human performance which is at its peak when the human elements involved are comfortable and rested. An added benefit of improved performance is the lowering in the number of accidents caused due to human error and neglect.

The process of separating humans from hard work has been taken too far in certain instances where the increase in leisure time has led to complacency setting in. Besides the obvious negative effects on performance, an increase in ease of living has been tied to conditions such as obesity which are deleterious to society. Despite the potential pitfalls, evidence over centuries has shown that an increase in process efficiency does lead to mostly positive outcomes.

The examples mentioned show the need to increase efficiency to allow for greater leisure time.