People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Decisions based on emotion are likely to be wrong and are generally considered bad decisions. A bad decision for the purpose of this essay would be defined as one that does not achieve an objective and leaves the individuals affected by it in an undesirable state due to the decision.

Most decisions have implications that are not considered in an emotional state. Decisions made based on logic use verifiable data and are made after considering all sides of an argument. Logic dictates the use of minimum assumptions and requires reliance on authentic data to arrive at a decision free of personal bias. Because of the process of logical thought, decision makers are required to take a holistic approach and view the problem from multiple angles. This ensures adequate consideration being given to all factors that affect the outcome of the decision. Decisions made based on emotion are plagued by personal biases which overwhelm the decision maker's mind to such an extent that they cloud rational thought. This leads to a unilateral thought process which fails to consider factors not apparent immediately. For example, a decision to purchase a new vehicle purely based on the need one feels to own it is a poor one for it does not consider multiple factors one ought to before following through with a purchase of such magnitude. Not having considered one's financial ability and the need for a vehicle apart from the practical difficulties, one is at risk of being stuck with a vehicle which causes more harm than good. Such decisions are impulsive in nature and disregard the long-term implications leaving one with more problems than one started with.

The human mind also tends to rationalize its actions by twisting facts to arrive at a conclusion. Even if one were to attempt to justify a decision based on emotion with logic, one would perceive facts differently and align them to one's point of view to justify the poor decision. For example, a teacher can reprimand a student known for poor behavior when the student is not at fault. The decision is based on the teacher's emotions toward the student and not rooted in observation and evidence. One might defend the decision by quoting previous incidents, but would be at fault because of arriving at a decision without considering all factors of the situation. Any justification of such a decision would be flawed due to the absence of credible evidence proving the need for reprehension.

There are certain situations where logic doesn't serve to help one arrive at the best decision. Most of these are matters of the heart and are inherently emotional decisions. Applying the rules of logic does not help because the evidence used to guide the logical thought process can be misconstrued and cannot be verified by any means. Evidence is a key factor in logical thought, which when questionable undermines the entire process of logic based decision making. Such decisions lend themselves to emotion and are more likely to be right decisions when guided by emotion rather than logic.

For the reasons mentioned above, it can be conclusively said that people who make decisions based on emotion and attempt to validate them using logic are poor decision makers.