The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The evidence required to evaluate the argument is as follows:

1. Whether the complaints recieved in the aforementioned time period were more in number and worse than regular complaints;

2. Whether local businesses have stopped advertising during the program because of the fact that they are not covering local news;

3. Whether restoring time devoted to weather and local news will bring back viewership and advertising;

Answering the first question would further answer whether or not the shift to national news had a severe detrimental impact. Nowhere in the passage is it mentioned that they did not recieve complaints prior to the change to national news, only that the nature of the complaints had now begun to shift towards the change in the late-night news program. Assuming that more number of people had begun to complain and that the nature of these complaints was getting more pronounced, then it is safe to assume that the shift to national news did have an impact on viewership.

Answering the second question tells us whether local businesses care about what a television station covers. The correlation is more likely between the viewership of the channel than the content it covers. The loss in advertising is more likely due to the fact that there was a loss in viewership, which may or may not have happend because of the change to national news. Going back to the first piece of evidence, an affirmative existence of which would imply that the second piece of evidence is also indirectly dependant on the change in program.

Answering the third question tells us whether the current scenario would benefit from reverting back to local and weather news, since viewership has already declined with regard to the station. A change in program again might result in viewers getting further disenfranchised from the station, since the station will now be seen as sellouts trying desperately to get viewership back. However, if their viewers are composed purely of people wanting to get back to local and weather news, then the argument holds, since resurgence in viewership would likely also bring back advertising as well.