An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The proposal in its current state fails to be convincing in its suggestion that the millet is the answer to the vitamin deficiency due to a number of unanswered questions.

The first assumption fails to compare the millet to existing crops. While it is said to be high in Vitamin A, there are no studies quoted to prove that the vitamin content is substantially higher. Should the new breed have a marginally higher content of Vitamin A, the increased cost to the Government is not offset by the benefits of the crop. The proposal also fails to account for the other dietary requirements to allow for the absorption of Vitamin A. A crop rich in Vitamin A would be of no use if the human body is incapable of absorbing the nutrients due to the absence of prerequisites. The statement also fails to identify a reason for the Vitamin deficiency. Without an established link between a deficiency and the current crop, a replacement of the millet might not solve the Vitamin deficiency. Also, no studies are mentioned where the engineered millet has been proved to provide a greater level of nourishment than the existing breed of millet. The study would have to span a large cross section of society with a control group to conclusively state that the engineered millet is superior to the existing crop. In the event that the engineered millet is found to contain Vitamin A that is readily absorbed and is similar to the current crop, it would be suggested to switch over to the engineered millet.

While the engineered millet is in the same family as the millet grown in Tagus, there are no mentions of the similarity in taste and texture of the foods made using the engineered millet. For it to gain widespread acceptance, the engineered millet has to mimic the current millet. No mention is made of the yield from the crop either. If the engineered millet results in a significantly lower yield when compared to the current millet, it would not be in the best interest of the farmers growing it. Further, a lower yield would necessitate greater use of land which the country of Tagus might not have accessible to it. The study also fails to mention the needs to grow the crop in terms of water and fertilizers. Should it be shown that the engineered millet requires substantially more water and exotic fertilizer not accessible to the farmers, the new crop would not be economically viable. Also, there are no mentions of the pest resistance of the crop, which is a major requirement to assess the sustainability of the crop. If it is found that the crop has water and fertilizer requirements that can be met by the farmers and has the pest resistance to survive in the nation of Tagus, the engineered millet would be a viable alternative to the existing millet grown.

The Government should also consider other alternatives to millet which would serve to combat the Vitamin A deficiency in the country of Tagus. Should a food be found such that it meets all the aforementioned requirements in terms of sustainability and practicality, it allows for diversification of the crop and moves away from dependence on millet for nourishment.

If the questions raised are satisfactorily answered, it would be recommended to switch to the engineered strain of millet to combat the deficiency in the nation of Tagus.