The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is flawed due to the assumptions of correlation implying causation and unscientific test methods employed in arriving at results.

The study assumes the viability of the concentrated solution used for human use. One can argue that the commercially available solution is at its maximum potency without being harmful to the users' skin. Further increase in the concentration of the solution could be potentially harmful to users with sensitive skin. The study also does not mention the type of bacteria on which the solution was tested. With the biodiversity in the microbial class, a product that works on one subset of bacteria may not be as effective against other subsets. Had the study mentioned the types of bacteria the product was tested on with concentrations used in real-world applications, it would be more credible.

The trial period of the regular strength version was carried out at one location and is not indicative of results one can expect over all hospitals. The conditions of the trial do not mention the period or the test subjects in detail. The 20% drop in infections can be alluded to a variety of factors apart from the use of UltraClean. It could be likely that the study period was shorter than the duration of stay of the patients at the hte hospital. With post-surgical infections taking anywhere from 2-7 days to show up, the number of infections with delayed effects might not have been accounted for during the trial.

Should the change to UltraClean be made, it is quite likely that a significant change will not be seen due to the unfounded claims by studies and limited trail periods. Further testing in a variety of locations with control subjects to test the effectiveness of UltraClean will provide a definitive answer as to the effectiveness of UltraClean. A premature move to UltraClean could pose a significant financial penalty due to the scale of the operation involved in phasing the current soap out of the hospital system.

The faulty assumptions mentioned above prove that the results of the studies performed are not to be taken at face value and are to be evaluated further before a decision is made.