A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Standardization of education is a pursuit every nation should work towards; it provides a platform for uniform testing and grading that if absent, would lead to a biased entry for students of higher level education boards. Entry based on scholarly merit is not the problem here, but rather the difference in accessibility of resources to achieve the same level or merit creates a gap between students writing a standardized test. To illustrate the above argument, consider a student studying under the Karnataka State Board versus a student under the Central Board of Secondary Examinations. The State Board does not cover advanced topics that are essential to clear the JEE examinations, which are standardized tests for entry into best government-run engineering colleges. Since the State Board covers a simpler syllabus, it also employs teachers who are of a lower standard than the teachers in a Central Board school. A singular, national curriculum ensures that all students studying in a particular nation are graded on the same syllabus, further ensuring that knowledge about a particular field is not widely disparate across different regions of the country.

The counter argument can be made that this move is detrimental to the overall standard of education, i.e, that the simpler syllabi that State Boards' make use of are conducive to learning for children from rural areas, where primary education wasn't of a high quality either. The problem with this argument is that the detriment is born of a non-standardization in education as well, except at a primary level. Standardization of curriculum is the stepping stone to standardization in quality of education, as subsequent products of this education system will be of a more normalized quality than those of a system without a standard curriculum. This ensures that there is no wide disparity between the quality of teachers in the next generation, as they would have had a standard education as well.

This recommendation takes into account that it works as a long-term plan, and that difficulties will arise immediately after this move is passed. But it ensures that the next generation and those after will be much better off than the current one.