Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

humans are one of the species, if not the only one, to pocess higher level of concousness. humans have and internal spirit that governs and self asses the right or worng of one'sown actions. The concept of morality is based on that. An action could be said as immoral if one needs to heavily force on his/her spirit to shut down it's judgement on an action. thus an action of morality is an action of consious and good thought; these actions tend to result, more often than not, in good than bad. thus, one could see where the claim an action resulting in good rather than bad can be stipulated as a morally correct action. this, though seem intuitive, have a seriuos ommision. The action should be originated from good thoughts. it is of utmost importance. The action, just because resulting in good, may not necessarily be a moral one. The morality is connected with the doer of the action. The results may be affected by some other factors, not connected to the doer. thus, we should look at the doer, and the roots of the action to give a judgement, if any, of its morality. it is comming from this stream of argument that I disagree with the claim and the reasoning; claim being weaken with a serious ommision while the reasoning being outright false.

law is a framework that is imposed on the humans to keep the morality of humans in check, which is vital for the sustainability of any civilization. A key concept that is being used in many instances of law is the intent. A person who tried and faile in doing a crime is judged with the same level as he has done the crime. Note that the outcome here is not bad; no crime has been done. But the action is judged immoral. On the other hand, a bad action doen by accident, say murder without any intetnt to kill, may be judged very lightly, despit its adverse outcome. this again come from the above line of reasonging; the action is not immoral as there was no bad intent involving it. thus one should realize that it is intent that one should focus when assessing the morality of an action, not the outcome.

there are few examples where immoral acions have led to fairly good results. one such instance would be the imperialiasm and colonization. british empire colonize vast areas on the planet that once it was said that sun does not set for the british empire. british introduced civilization for many of island nations that it colonised, without which those islanders may not be able to connect to the world and experience its luxuries. british introduced order of governance, law frameworks, transportation systems and likes to these island nations whixh transforemed there economy. one would say that compared to the early oppression of the imperialists, theses services have immensely helped these nations; that good outweighed bad. this havinng the probability of being true, one would not say the acts of the bristish are moral. they did not implement theses services to help out these nations. rather they implemented to ease their life in ruling thses island nations, easy governance and reep the best out of these island so it would enrich the Bristsih empire. thus one would see how the intent of these seemingly desirable dervices are bad, rendering those acts not moral.

morality of an action should be judged by the intent of the doer of that action. morality of the action is connected to the doer. The results may not be under the control of the action and thus may not be a good factor to be used in judging the morality of an action.