Independent TOEFL essay - TPO 9: Agree or disagree? Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

Technology has brought about sweeping changes as to how people live, work, behave etc. Such an aspect of human life that has been affected by technology is the creativity, especially in children. People who are not familiar with the fast developing technology, mostly comprising adult generation, has the notion that the changes that the technology has brought to the quality and nature of creativity in children accounts for degredation. I strongly oppose this idea, that children are less creative now, but rather would argue that the children are more creative than their past generations, but this creativity having a new look. This idea would be elaborated in the following essay.

Firstly, Children have more tools than earlier to make creations, thanks to technolgy. For example, advancement in technology has made way to sophisticated and high performing computers and software. Modern generation of children are keen to make their own creations in the form of software, graphic designs etc. The barrier to entry for such impactful and sophisticated creations have been significanlty reduced. For example, the creativity that I have built up at my age in making software, is aquired by a child ten years younger than me far more easily. In this way, it can be argued that modern day children are more creative, thanks to technology.

Secondly, children today have access to a vast amount of information. This kind of exposure deliver two key features that help harness creativity. One is restricting duplication. Two is a large pool of ideas that can be mixed and mingled to result in a new, creative idea. For example, in the past, duplicate inventions were abandant, and the rate of creation of new products was small. But now students, let alone peole at large, are creating new products at a very fast pase. Students use different technological platforms like github and stackoverflow to avoid duplication and go on to build new things efficiently.

Thus, it is clear that technology has made children, the new generation, more creative. It is just that the face of new creativity is different. When you look at the creations children are making at present despite their nature, it speaks volumes of the creativity in them.