Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership

The idea of having five year term for individuals in power in the field of business, politics, education, government is an interesting topic to discuss. Making it compulsion has both advantage as well as disadvantage like every other topic. So I would to say that yes, it is necessary in the field of politics, government, to some extent in education. But, it wouldn't be ideal in the field of business.

The reason why I agree with the authors view is that having a five year term will have the politicians, government officials to be in check, this will avoid corruption. If they were to rule for infinite period of duration they would take things lightly for instance, Kim Jong Un of North Korea who came into power because of his father and grand father is an unworthy dictator. He has no regard for his people and controls the nation through fear. This can be avoided if he had a term for his regime not just the unworthy will be removed there will opportunity for fresh mind and idea. Nepotism which is a very bad form of government can be devastating if the heir is worthless for example, the Nehru family which is ruling for decades is now in the abysmal state as Rahul Gandhi who is not so smart. He cannot be replaced as the leader of the party because of his ancestry.

Likewise there many use of having to lookover without a teneur especially in the field of business consider Jeff Bezo he worked on his company for more than two decades now in order to become the richest man and to make Amazon a billion dollar company. Had he been replaced there would not an Amazon now, some people are passionate and talented they are the secret ingredient for success if you have them removed the food would to bad. Every person has his or her unique method of managing and handling problem if their idea works then it is better to let them stay in top, ultimately progress and success is all that matters. Having a tenure won't provide opportunity for people who are hard working to stay in top.

Another defect with the idea is that 5 years is a very short duration of time if you had replaced Jeff in the sixth year God knows very Amazon would be now. And i believe if you are worth and have talent within you will reach your potential height.

Concluding I have to say that as much as it is needed to have time duration for those in power it needs to be restricted to certain areas and not emphasised completely. With all the above points I hope it clear that you cannot agree on to one idea.