Claim Even though young people often receive the advice to follow your dreams more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals Reason Many people s dreams are inherently selfish Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which

I agree that since many people's dreams are inherently selfish, more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals rather than preaching the advice of following one's dreams to youngsters.

In this ever-growing and mordernizing world of today where it has become extremely essential to survive the rat race, people are tending to become more and more complacent. The tendency to become self-centered leads to formulation of dreams which are more selfish. If goals are based on these dreams then they would do nothing more than promote invidualistic ideas and work towards development of oneself rather than a holistic growth of society or community. If a person dreams to be rich and surrounded by all the worldly luxuries, no matter what he strives to become, this goal of hoarding money would make him do things which would not be justified by his profession. Let us say, there's a person who dreamt of gaining ultimate power and ruling an entire mass of people. He followed his dreams and later went on to become a politician. This person didn't have goals for developing the country, instead had dreams of being in power. Can we all think now, what would be the ramifications of such a dream based goal? This person would not at all care about the situation of its state and people, instead would be thinking how he could keep others defeating and himself firm in the position of power.

According to me its preferable not to make dreams a basis for achieving goals, instead, its better to pick worthy goals. Although, its not true every time. If Mark Zuckerburg wouldn't have dreamt and followed the trails of his dreams he wouldn't have been at such an influential position as he is now. He's not the only example, there are many other people like him who cherished their dreams and based their goals on them and finally resulted in making everyone proud of them because of their wonderful contribution.

Hence, though its better to pick goals which are worthy, its not wrong to follow one's dreams and base one's goals on them when those dreams are not inherently selfish.