Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

If a prompt is presented in front of a group then it might be a cause of a contentious argument but only by learning the opposing view point one knows the pros and cons of any argument. As the claim states that if an argument is able to win the opposing view point, then only it is considered best then this is not possible always but the reason cited does provide an insight about an idea from every view point.

First, If a neophyte want to start a construction business then this idea may create argument within the family, and elders might oppose this idea by citing various reasons like high initial investment and the future entrepreneur might not able to convince the elders of the family about his business plan but as the reason stated while defending his idea of construction business, he might come across some contrasting view points like first having some field experience , or taking loan as an initial investment rather than using personal savings of parents, this might prove beneficial for the young startup and may discover the pragmatic viewpoints which he ignored initially.

Secondly, its not always turns out to be a beneficial result for an argument, suppose a student have an idea of pursuing higher education abroad in a country like America and since he is not able to convince and defend his dream, also after listening to viewpoints like higher cost of education or he might not return to his country back may lead him to not choose the dream path which might eventually prove a costly mistake.

Therefore, If someone is able to convince the opposing viewpoint regarding an idea may win the argument and also execute it but while trying to defend an idea from opposing view point one might change his original idea which proved out to be a costly mistake.