claim: the best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint

reason: only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubt and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

The writer claims the ability to convince someone by not agreeing with an objective because this policy is the best method of examining an argument. I can agree with neither the claim nor the reason as I find both of them problematic.

For one reason, persuading an opponent by disagreement will turn to a word fight. Two sides of an argument, at the start, try to convey their though through an academic and logical way. However, As the argument proceeding, they will seek only to show their point of view is reasonable. Indeed, in this prolonged process, both sides feel frustrated; at this point, they are at thresholds of word fight. Therefore, they take the path of playing with words to convincing each other in which both sides get off track of logical reasoning and try to show their upper hand by illogical questioning and answering and hammering some times each other character. Owing to this reason, I believe convincing individuals by opposing their ideas is not an appropriate method for arguing opinions.

Furthermore, any manifest has its' strict frame. When an opponent tries to detect flaws about the manifest of the other group, surely they will ask that person to adjust his or her expression to their ideas’ limitation. Which leads to repudiate opponent claims. Because according to their philosophy, all detected flaws are sound and defendable. Therefore, the argument will be reached to an infinite rejection and ended without any definite conclusion over the discussed objective. In this regard, it is not the right way of a disagreement. I think this way convincing one’s in a debate is not perfect.

Finally, I am in the claim of that, is better to illuminate fundamental logical defect of ones' ideas rather than opponent an idea by casting doubt and underscoring it. Nobody likes his believe to be questioned and criticized by others. For this reason, they try defend themselves, sometimes by bringing reasons and facts, other time by even, attacking opponent ideas and show that, the foundation of opponents' opinion is not validating and strong enough to question their believes. Thus, both argument side turns to be judgmental and emotional rather be rational; as a result, they go far-fetch and do not explore each other point of view logically. Due to this fact, convincing individual by making them defend their belief against contrasting viewpoint is a weak strategy.