Agree or disagree: News sources in the past were more concerned about the accuracy of the news compared to the news sources today.

Throughout history, people have been tried to be aware of update news regarding political, financial, etc. situations of the societies by various news sources such as television and newspaper; o important are these sources that they always play a prominent role in people’s attitudes and reactions. In this case, some controversy arises as to in which time news sources have been more concerned about the accuracy of the news. There is a common idea stating that in the past, news sources were more worried about the accuracy of the news compared to today. I am personally onboard with this notion. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will elucidate my points of view in two reasons.

The first reason paramount reason that crosses my mind is that nowadays, publishers have to be more cautious about their audiences. Indeed, a majority of news audiences are able to recognize fake news by comparing them to others. Therefore, if these sources don’t notice the importance of accuracy, they will definitely lose most of their adherents. However, in the past, people couldn’t be aware of many news owing to the bereft of technology. Take, for instance, a very popular and famous Iranian political program on television. Should the presenter of this program doesn’t tell the truth about the political relationships between Iran and other foreign countries, Iranian individuals will easily understand whether these stories are fake by searching them on the internet and comparing them with other news. Consequently, they will never follow that program on TV and the program’s reputation will be harmed.

Another interesting reason which deserves some words here is that these days, being careless of the validity of published materials can lead to some stiff punishments from the governments. It stands to reason that there are a considerable number of strict rules for the rightness of official publishing. Therefore, if news sources are not worried enough about the accuracy of their news, they will encounter negative consequences. On the other hand, these rules were in fewer numbers and lighter in the past. Let’s take the same aforementioned political program as an example, noticing that this program tells lies, the Iranian government starts to call the producers to account in the court and maybe the program makers will be sent to the jail due to their mistakes.

To wrap everything up in the end, having analyzed the preceding ideas, one can conclude that today’s news sources are more concerned about accuracy than they were in the past. This is because not only being careless may result in losing their audiences but also they may encounter negative consequences of disobeying the rules. Thus, I hope that this progress in attracting people’s trust will be increased as time goes by.