Agree or disagree: News sources in the past were more concerned about the accuracy of the news compared to the news sources today.

In general, being a reliable source of news is considered among the most important aspects of a media. Every moment, a wide variety of events occur worldwide, and these events are reflected in (the) media. Since people refer to these sources based on their accuracy, it is of great importance to care about this issue. In this regard, many people wonder how the accuracy of the news was in past compared to today's news. A common idea is that news sources were more concerned about being accurate in the past, but I am completely against it. In the following lines, I will explain two reasons to shed light on my answer.

The first noteworthy idea is that there is a real competition in media today. Today’sworld is considered a fully connected world; it means all news is spread in at light speed immediately due to a large group of people working in media besides having a fast internet based connections. By having considered this, people will count on accurate media, so it turns the media industry into a competitive environment which has no room for any mistakes in news. For example, suppose a TV channel which reports the election results prior to the authorities. This mistake will lead to catastrophe, and the media will lose its reputation. By saying this, today compared to the past, preserving accuracy in news is of great importance to have a role in this competition.

The second reason comes into my mind is readers’ awareness about false news. Today, people are making decisions based on daily news published in the media. Having considered this fact, they have to distinguish between these sources to find out the most trustworthy information source. As a result of this effort, no excuses are accepted about misleading information. For example, take a keen businessman who chooses stocks based on analysis offered by the local newspaper. Because it is vital to have accurate information for a successful trade, any problem with statistics offered by the newspaper will not be tolerated.

By To wrap everything up in the end, having analyzes the preceding ideas, one can conclude that today’s media, compared to the past, are more concerned about accuracy of their news so that to preserve their place in competition and respect their readers awareness.