claim: the best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint

reason: only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubt and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

The writer claims ability of convincing someone by not being agree with an objective, because this policy is the best method of examining an argument. I can agree with neither the claim nor the reason as I find both of them problematic.

For one reason, persuading an opponent by disagreement, will turn to a word fight. Two side of an argument, at the start try to convey their though through an academic and logical way. But, As the argument proceeding, they will try only show their point of view is reasonable. Indeed, in this prolonged process, both sides feel frustrated, at this point they are at thresholds of word fight. Therefore, they take path of playing with words to convincing each other in which both sides get off track of logical reasoning and try show their upper hand by illogical questioning and answering and hammering some times each other character. Owing to this reason, I believe convincing individuals by opposing with their ideas is not an appropriate method for arguing opinions.

Furthermore, any manifest has its’ own strict frame. when an opponent tries to detect flaws about the manifest of the other group, surely they will ask that person to adjust his or her expression to their ideas’ limitation. Which leads to repudiate opponent claims. Because according to their philosophy all detected flaws are good and defendable. Therefore, argument will be reach to an infinite rejection and ended without any clear conclusion over discussed objective. In this regard it is not a good way of disagreement. I think this way convincing one’s in a debate is not perfect.

Finally, I am in claim of that, is better to illuminate logical basic defect of ones’ ideas rather than opponent an idea by casting doubt and under scoring it. Thinking more, nobody likes his believe to be questioned and criticized by others. For this reason, they try just defend, sometimes by bringing reasons and facts, other time by even, attacking opponent ideas and show that, foundation of opponents’ idea is not validating and strong enough to question their believes. Thus, both argument side turn to be judgmental and emotional rather be rational, as a result, they go far-fetch and do not explore each other point of view logically. Due to this fact, convincing individual by making them defend their believe against contrasting viewpoint is a weak strategy.