Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting view of other does one really discover the value of that idea

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

What extends of a veracious statement apply? Is it represent the majority citizen? What the weakness it holds? There is a raft of questions to measure an argument and most of it provided by the opposite party. They understand the strength, already apply the contradictory solution, and have extensive knowledge of another side hence their decision to believe the contradict statement. Although there is a certain prerequisite qualification for the involved party to make the discussion meaningful and advantageous such are both sides is competent, credible, and logical person, I agree with the statement provided.

The process of convincing the opposite side through debate or discussion is similar to the justification of scientific inventions. The researcher provides a reliable data to back their claim, gives an explanation to other people whose challenge the idea and argues to eliminate doubt. Even though the process might differ significantly with our quotidian discussion, as the former usually needs year’s long, arduous, and expensive experiment thus more objective, but the rule still applies. Most of our arguments shape by our experience, educational background and job thus there is a significant degree of subjectivity. Our argument may inchoate and our evidence may defective, the discussion will reveal the problem. In the end, through tedious argument, exchanging doubt and juxtaposition all view, we may prove to be correct, find another facet from the argument or even wrong, otherwise, it gives us the value of our idea.

The advantage of debate and exchanging argument from opposite site has been proved advantageous by preceded generation. It applies at our house of representatives, which is usually an amalgam of a different faction. They debase, support, or even confound each other to make an important decision for the whole nation. The opposing view replicate the reality of a real world where there is one side who agree or disagree with one decision hence give the project of what kind of reaction provoked and mitigation plan needed. For example, in Indonesia, the universal health coverage supported by half of the parliament claimed that the rule would improve health status and prevent maternal death. The opposite side refuted the idea because the country simply not have the budget for it. Both of the reason relatable and justifiable, but when the former side won, the government planned a way to allocate sufficient fund for the program beforehand.

However, the expertness of both side needs to be taken seriously in this process. It proved detrimental or superfluous to try to convince someone who has not enough capability or information. All above-stated reason applicable only to two mutual rational, logic and aboveboard people. For instance, the heliocentric theory had been censured by the opposite view, even consider the evils work, since the opposite view is a religious figure, not a researcher or scholar. The lack of information makes the discussion not fruitful and only cause a deleterious effect, in this example the condemnation of the supportive side.

All things considered, I believe the soundness of argument can be reached by eliminating the doubt and apprehension of opposite party through educated discussion and logical debate. Although certain circumstance may apply, the process has been part of our advancement of science and knowledge for decades.