To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What is considered a most important characteristic of a society? Is it the variety of it? The purpose they serve or the evolution of the society itself? Perhaps the answer can be found in a place where there are a lot of them and so varied, it can provide detail information. A scholar can forage information so comprehensive thus give a complete view of what the society itself. I believe the major cities provides an answer to all the question.

Major cities attract a different type of people from different background, ethnic, social culture, and religion hence become a miniature of a different society. As a center of economy or government, major cities provide a wide range of job opportunity and eclectic culture attraction that makes a lot of people come. The influx of people brings their own unique personality and tradition that helps the society build. We can find every existed society in the capital city hence they provide the evidence of characteristic that the scholar needed such as conformity or tolerance. For example, Jakarta, the capital city of Indonesia, owns their own accent of national spoken language, it is not derived from other ethnic, it uniquely found in the region and prevalence to everyone who lives there more than 15 years. However, each of the people still able to speak their own traditional language and identify themselves with their origin. It serves the purpose of society, different but able to unite as one. Nevertheless, the idea may not always prove right, especially in the major country with the high crime rate. Although the building blocks the same, low law enforcement hinder the society to connect and exchange their culture to build and flourish and serve as one function.

In addition to a hodgepodge of culture, the major cities offer the evolution of people that serve the society and consequently the evolvement of society itself. It offers the birds-eye view of the basic rule of society, dynamic. What I mean is, through the urbane environment, every individual may identify oneself different through time. First, they are part of student society, over the years they change to the fashion culture people and when they reach an acme point of their life, they take part of high society. It is only possible in a major city where a social scene so byzantine and complex hence the facilitation of this process. It can’t be observed in a small county with only 2000 people where the major occupation is a farmer.

Furthermore, major cities not only offer fundamental character of society, it also provides the peripheral one. With a society that everchanging, the obscure one that happens transiently in society can be observed. For example, the process that changes our society to become a technology savvy one. When hundreds of people ready to queuing all night to get the brand new iPhone only happen in major cities where technology become essential part of life. Washington populated with politicians, economist, and consultant whose attract to the city because of the specific purpose of the city. The technocrat and computer genius centralized in silicon valley. Thus provide a different take on society characteristic. Although the idea that major cities affect society in a specific way, it may also true in a rural area. For example, the mining area. The major mining area builds a complete society that pulls people from different background and populates the area so it's quite similar to the major city society. However, complexity major city offered is unbeatable.

In the end, the character of a society can be picture wholly with a different approach. It can be found in every major city where they thrive and evolved perpetually. Although the small area can give specific and detail of close-knit society, to found the most important one, major cities are still the place to go.