The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

The memo stated that there is lower number of viewer of the Super Screen Movie although most of the movies are reviewed favorly by the expert. The director claimed that the lack of awareness to the availability of good movie is the reason of the fewer consumer hence they need to increase budget for advertising the movie thus eliminate the problem. However, due to the unconvincing assumption in the memo, there are several things need to be count in before the decision is warranted.

First, the company needs to have background information about the people who watched the movie such as age, gender, percentage of decrease and in which type of movie. They also need to make an evaluation about what type of movie they produce in recent years, is it different from before or similiar in content. The result is important to eliminate the probability of the fewer people come because the movie not suitable for the majority of Super Screen consumer. Lets say in the last 3 years, most of the movie is animated movie and now they shifted to R rated type, hence the majority of consumer, which is most likely kids will not attend anymore, not necessarily because they unaware of the review.

Second, there is a need for new evidence that the reviewer whose give positive score is a majority. The text only stated that there is an increase, without specific number about how many negative review out there. Maybe this year the favorable review reach to 20 %, 5 % percent more than last year, but the other 80% still debase the movie. With this new information, the company may choose to increase the quality of the movies instead spend the money to useless advertisement and statement that the movie has a good quality may proved to be wrong.

Lastly, how big the impact of an advertisement to sway people to watch the movie. The company need a measured research to make sure that the advertisement will bridge the gap of knowledge and it will be seen or affect the movie goers judgement. Just disseminate an information about a good quality movie is available may not impactful enough to increase the number of viewer. Of course this judgement may be applied if the problem only lack of promotion.

In the end, the idea to allocate bigger budget seems logic if it is bolster by reliable data and evidence. However, to capriciously choose to increase promotion budget without first indentify the fundamental problem may not only hinder the objective but also pernicious for the company.